BLM Book Fairies: a Book Review of Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett

We are highlighting incredible books by black authors every day in October, and today we are talking about the YA story Full Disclosure!

About BLM Book Fairies:

This October, we are sharing incredible books, both fiction and non-fiction, by black writers alongside Black History Month in the UK. Check out #BLMBookFairies on instagram to see our collection of books being revealed one by one!

A Book Fairy Review: Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett

I loved the positivity of this novel. It’s refreshing to see how far the YA genre is ahead of others in terms of embracing people from all walks of life, in all situations, of any sexuality. Personally I cannot recall meeting a character in a novel who is HIV-positive, let alone the main character. I was ignorant to many of the thoughts and feelings Simone shared, but I wasn’t shamed for it – the way her situation is described is not patronising, it welcomes the reader in to discover her situation and the challenges she faces as a result.

The characters around Simone are also refreshingly diverse in terms of race and sexuality – and this gives young readers the freedom to believe they can be themselves around their true friends and family. The love story throughout was a comfortable YA one, with the barrier being Simone’s ‘secret’.

In short, this novel disrupts many readers’ assumptions about people who are HIV-positive. It acknowledges these assumptions exist, and one by one, breaks them down and gives real answers. The amount of research that went into this novel is astounding and what we are left with is a gentle reminder to be open minded, regardless – and a lasting impact on the way we think about this subject.

About the book:

A romantic, funny YA perfect for fans of Dear Evan Hansen and Everything, Everything.

Simone is HIV-positive – and positive HIV won’t define her.

She also knows that celibacy is the best way to stay safe.

Enter Miles Austin: intelligent, funny and way too sexy for Simone to resist.

But her classmates don’t know that she’s HIV-positive – and what is the truth worth in the hands of the wrong person?

Reviews:

‘Romantic, funny, hopeful, and unflinchingly real’ – Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon Vs The Homosapiens Agenda

‘Honest, eye-opening, heartful’ – Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give

Details:

Published by Penguin Random House Children’s UK in October 2019 – you can find it on Hive Books here: https://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Camryn-Garrett/Full-Disclosure/24037594

Would you like to be a book fairy?

Get started today with your first set of stickers! We offer free worldwide delivery AND a book fairy guide with every order. Throughout October, every order above one pack of stickers will also get you a postcard celebrating hidden heroes in black history!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.