The Book Fairies manage to free copies of Otherland from The Fairy Queen!

Book fairies had a struggle on their hands as they tackled The Fairy Queen to get copies of Louie Stowell’s new book from Otherland!

The Book Fairies escaped from Otherland for a day, armed with copies of this beautiful new book to hide around the UK! We wonder what the Fairy Queen will think of our mission… Happy book birthday to Louie Stowell!

Book fairies headed to places where there was WATER and MAGIC so that we could collect some copies from Otherland to bring into our world and place in public! Did you spot a copy at your local beach, canal, river or lake?

About the book:

Otherland is a dangerous magical underworld – a place where appearances can be deceiving and anything can happen.

A world of gods, vampires, and fairies. It’s also… horrible. When life-long friends Myra and Rohan discover that Rohan’s baby sister Shilpa has been stolen and taken to Otherland, the only way to rescue her is by taking part in a deadly game – three impossible challenges set by the Fairy Queen of Otherland.

Win the game, and Rohan and Myra can go home with Shilpa – but lose, and they’ll be trapped in Otherland forever… A darkly funny, action-packed fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, Malamander, and The Land of Roar, from the author of the highly-acclaimed Dragon in the Library series.

All that ribbon!

We used lots of different styles and colours of ribbon with which to dress up this beautiful book – lots of book fairies chose see-through or blue to go with the water theme, too! It was such a delight to find beautiful spots for children to stumble upon a new magical story! The ribbons also make the books look like little gifts – making it really clear they are free to pick up and take home.

Some of the happy finders!

We absolutely LOVE hearing from book finders – look at these very happy mini book finders here! Thank you for sharing these amazing pictures with us. We hope you enjoy the book and cannot wait to see which magical place you choose to leave it next!

Not lucky enough to find one?

Do not worry! Book shops in the UK are back open (WHAHOOO!!!) and if they don’t have a copy in, did you know you can ask them to order one for you and it will usually be there the next day? This way you can get a copy really quickly AND support your local bookshop at the same time!

Alternatively, we encourage readers to use websites that support the book industry. Find a copy of Otherland at Bookshop.org or on Hive Books!

Would you like to join The Book Fairies?

You can hide new or preloved books where you live, wherever that is in the world! Grab your first set of stickers and get started right away. Every order comes with free delivery and a little book fairy guide!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.