The Book Fairies Follow The Plot of Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass around London…

Follow The Book Fairies as they explore 18th century London through the eyes of characters featured in historical fiction novel Black Drop

The Book Fairies are walking the streets of 18th century London today, following the plot of Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass! Celebrate this new hardback with us as we highlight locations relevant to the plot…

Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - St John's Gate London

“The clock chimes seven, and a procession of workmen are trudging past, through the city gate, without casting me more than a cursory glance.”


Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - Ludgate HIll

“The noise was deafening as the procession of condemned men came down Ludgate Hill to the corner of Fleet Street”


Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - Covent Garden London

“When I arrived punctually at dusk in Covent Garden, Aglantine was waiting amid the wreckage of the market.”


Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - St James's Palace London

“I saw him at St James’s Palace, dressed so plainly the King was offended.”


Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - London church


“There was a tremendous hooting of owls somewhere off by St Clement’s Church, and foxes were fighting in some back alley…”


Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass hidden by book fairies - Foundling Museum London

“Those urchins that sleep at Temple Bar would be taken to the parish any- where else in England, but here there’s only the Foundling Hospital, and I’d not put a dog in there.”


About the book:

This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Reluctant spy.

July 1794, and the streets of London are filled with rumours of revolution. Political radical Thomas Hardy is to go on trial for treason, the war against the French is not going in Britain’s favour, and negotiations with the independent American colonies are on a knife edge.

Laurence Jago – clerk to the Foreign Office – is ever more reliant on the Black Drop to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter has been leaked to the press, which may lead to the destruction of the British Army, and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk, supposedly a suicide.

Blame for the leak is shifted to the dead man, but even as the body is taken to the anatomists, Laurence is certain both of his friend’s innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, and at a time when even the slightest hint of treason can lead to the gallows, how can Laurence find the true culprit without incriminating himself?

A thrilling historical mystery, perfect for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd-Robinson.

Some more of our favourite pics from the day:

Not lucky enough to find one?

Do not worry, this great read is now available in all good book shops! If you cannot make it down to one, order your copy of Black Drop from Bookshop.org and you’ll still be supporting indie book sellers!

Would you like to be a book fairy?

Anyone can be a book fairy! Grab your first set of stickers to start your book fairy journey today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.