Secrets of the Snakestone by Piu Dasgupta shared by book fairies on a tree

Sssssssecrets of the Snakestone was hidden by book fairies around the UK!

“The boy spotted the glistening gold object…”

The Book Fairies have been busy sharing copies of Secrets of the Snakestone by Piu DasGupta today! Happy publication day!

Who will be lucky enough to spot one? The book starts with a MAP… like all good books!

About the book:

In this breathtaking adventure, Zélie and Jules face a deadly race to solve a family mystery and a vicious crime that stretches from the jungles of Calcutta to the sewers of Paris. Zélie is often accused of being a witch, but she doesn’t believe in magic. Until Jules climbs up from the reeking Parisian sewer and hands Zélie the golden locket he discovered there. The locket once held the magical Snakestone, and Zélie knows that if she can find the stone, she might also find her missing father. But a dangerous secret society are equally desperate to get their hands on the Snakestone and its powers. With their lives under threat, Zélie and Jules embark on a desperate hunt for the treasure, facing strange riddles, a mysterious circus, and the miles of murky tunnels that twist beneath the ancient city above… Perfect for fans of Nazneen Ahmed Pathak, Abi Elphinstone and Kiran Millwood Hargrave.

What did the author think?

Secrets of the Snakestone by Piu Dasgupta shared by book fairies on a tree fungi

“I was absolutely stunned by the artistry of the posts & the way they cleverly matched the words, also I was struck by how the fairies found locations quintessentially of their location eg London (for example the blue plaques, phone box) which perfectly matched the story but made you think of the interconnections between these places, almost like seeing a film adaptation of the book in a different location! Thank you so much. Xx”

– Piu Dasgupta, author

Happy finders!

We love nothing more but to know the books are in the hands of readers! Here are a few of the lovely notifications we had today…

Get your hands on a copy!

If you didn’t find a book today, don’t worry! This wonderful middle grade novel is available now in all good bookshops. If you prefer to buy your books online, you can still support independent bookshops when you click here to order Secrets of the Snakestone from Bookshop.org!

Become a book fairy

If this activity has made YOU want to be a book fairy, what are you waiting for? Get started with some stickers and pop them on books you’d like to hide around where you live, work, travel…!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *